News and media

New IHPN Consultant Oversight Framework Expert Reference Group announced

Date of publication: 1st Feb 2019

Categories: Latest news

Following the announcement that former NHS England National Medical Director, Sir Bruce Keogh, will be leading on the development of a Consultant Oversight Framework (COF) for independent acute hospitals to improve the consistency around clinical governance in the sector and raise the bar in medical leadership, IHPN are pleased to confirm that an Expert Reference Group has been set up to help support this work.

The External Reference Group is made up of key figures from across the medical profession including hospital providers, consultant representatives, regulators, Royal Colleges and the NHS and will provide insight and guidance to Sir Bruce as the framework develops to help ensure that all independent providers are able to apply best practice in a way that best suits their organisation’s culture


A full list of members of the External Reference group are:

  • Jason Yiannikkou, Deputy Director, Acute Care and Provider Policy Team, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Una Lane, Director of Registration and Revalidation, General Medical Council
  • Tim Aldrich, Assistant Director, Strategy, General Medical Council
  • Prof Carrie MacEwen, Chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges
  • Ian Martin, Council member, Royal College of Surgeons
  • Professor David Oliver, Clinical Vice President, Royal College of Physicians
  • Dr William Harrop-Griffiths, Consultant Anaesthetist, Royal College of Anaesthetists
  • Dr Mike Prentice, Regional Medical Director (North), NHS England/NHS Improvement
  • Richard Packard, Chairman, Federation of Independent Practitioner Organisations
  • Amanda Stanford, Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals, Care Quality Commission
  • Dr Howard Freeman, Clinical Director, IHPN
  • Disa Young, Assistant Director of Regulatory Affairs and Engagement, IHPN
  • Dr JJ de Gorter, Chief Medical Officer, Spire Healthcare
  • Dr Cliff Bucknall, Chief Medical Officer, HCA Healthcare
  • Dr Steven Luttrell, Medical Director, BMI Healthcare
  • Mr Ron Hoile, Medical Director, KIMS Hospital
  • Judi Ingram, Group Clinical Director / Chief Nurse, Aspen Healthcare
  • Prof Sir Jonathan Asbridge, Clinical Director, Healthcare at Home
  • Mehdi Erfan, General Counsel and Company Secretary, Ramsay Healthcare